Freak the Mighty: Gram

A few years ago, our grandson Maxwell came to live with my husband and me. Even though we love him so much, he is always in the basement. I don’t know what he finds so exciting down in the dark all the time. But he’s a boy, I guess. Truthfully, I don’t always know what to say to him anyway, so I’m glad he feels comfortable somewhere.

We make sure that he knows that there is nothing wrong with him. There is absolutely nothing wrong with him. Except that we have to be careful that his father’s blood doesn’t take over and that he remembers that he is our grandson.  It is a little bit of a shock to see him sometimes in certain lights, because he looks so much like . . . Well, we were just hoping that he would look more like our side of the family.

I’m thrilled that he is making friends with Gwen’s boy. Could his name be Kevin or Keith or something like that? They just moved in behind our house. I’m sure Gwen got an awful fright when she saw Maxwell–Sometimes I forget that as he gets older, he’s looking more and more like a man, whose ever side of the family he takes after. And Gwen’s boy is so, well, he’s just quite a little man. A real sweetheart. Some may say he’s a dwarf, but I think those people like to be called, “Little People” now instead of “dwarves.”

In any case, I’m pleased as punch. That will be good for Maxwell to finally have a friend. Someone he doesn’t kick. Not that he really kicks too much any more. I’ve already said too much.

Here’s a flower I found at the Bed, Bath and Beyond. It’s not real, who can tell the difference? Fake flowers are just getting better and better all the time.In case you’re wondering, it’s certainly not from my husband. He is NOT a romantic.But I just had to have it when I saw it at the store.

Why not make an Instagram of it? All the kids talk about Instagram and since it has the word “gram” in it, I thought, “You know what? You can do this. You’re a Gram now.” So here’s my Instagram pic (you don’t have to say picture any more now-a-days) of the day. It’s a white hydrangea in case you didn’t know.

hydrangea: for Annie

hydrangea: for Annie

About jaclynfre

Recipe adventurer, fast walker, sporadic writer, aunt, sister and daughter
This entry was posted in English 7, slc 2014 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment